A List of Persecutors of Falun Gong was Submitted to the Federal Government

In July, the Falun Dafa Info Center and the World Organization to Investigate the Persecution of Falun Gong (WOIPFG) jointly submitted a list of persecutors to the U.S. Federal Government.

Minghui.org, a Falun Gong information clearinghouse, reported that the list submitted in July 2017 included a number of Chinese nationals who participated in persecuting Falun Gong practitioners. They range in rank and duty.

The list was submitted to both the Department of State and the Department of Treasury pursuant to the Global Magnitsky Human Rights Accountability Act. The Magnitisky Act “authorizes the President to impose financial sanctions and visa restrictions on foreign persons in response to certain human rights violations and acts of corruption,” according to its official notice. The act’s key punishments are to bar perpetrators from entering the U.S. and to freeze their assets in the U.S.

Magnitsky Act was signed by President Barack Obama in 2016, intending to punish Russian officials involved in gross human rights violations and corruption. In April 2017 it was expanded into Global Magnitsky Act. The Global Magnitsky Act allows that perpetrators in any country can be punished.

The number and identity of the individuals on the list is undisclosed. What is clear is that in the 18 years since the beginning of the persecution, genocidal activities have been perpetrated by Chinese acting in their official capacities. This includes libel and slander against Falun Gong and its practitioners, kidnapping, incarceration without trial, torture, rape, and murder. The vast number of practitioners and other prisoners of conscience thought to have died due to forced organ harvesting implicates the entire Chinese medical industry.

Furthermore, the Chinese regime has, throughout the persecution, systematically extended its attacks overseas, so it is possible that some individuals on the list are residents of the United States.